Celebrating My Second Re-Birthday

Learn lessons from a bone marrow transplant survivor about how she prepared for transplant, the strategies that helped her through the procedure, and made the most of life.

Printer-friendly version Wednesday, May 22, 2024

 

Celebrating My Second Re-Birthday:
15 Lessons Learned on Surviving and Thriving after a Bone Marrow Transplant

Wednesday, May 22, 2024 
1 pm Eastern, Noon Central, 11 am Mountain, 10 am Pacific

In this webinar you will learn: 

  • Learn specific strategies to prepare for a transplant, including developing a communication plan, taking care of your caregiver, and tapping into the power of music.
  • Review helpful strategies for making the transplant hospital stay as comfortable as possible.
  • Explore strategies for approaching life after-transplant, from the immediacy of transplant recovery to thriving as a bone marrow transplant survivor

Bring your questions!

The webinar is free, but advance registration is required.  All you will need to participate is a computer, smartphone, or another electronic device.

 

Nancy Fichtman Dana, PhD

Nancy Dana, a professor at the University of Florida, has given many professional talks, but it never occurred to her that someday she would speak from personal experience on blood cancer and the bone marrow transplant experience. On New Year’s Eve Day 2021, she was out on her daily 3-mile run, tripped and broke her arm in two places,and received treatment at a local ER. But a week later, she was experiencing severe abdominal swelling and pain. After several tests, she learned she had Mantle Cell Lymphoma and underwent an autologous stem cell transplant. In remission and feeling great as she approaches the two-year mark after bone marrow transplant, Nancy will share lessons learned in three parts:  preparing for transplant, experiencing transplant, and living after transplant.